Reducing Technology


I’ve already discussed the general benefits of getting away when you have chronic illness. Today I want to focus in on one key factor I believe was beneficial to me; reducing my reliance on technology.

In today’s environment there is technology everywhere. This technology can be a good thing as it allows us to connect to others in a way that wasn’t available before.

For example, without technology I wouldn’t be here writing to all of you. People who live all over the world are able to connect in real time via the phone or the internet. Since being ill my connection with a lot of my friends and family has become very connected to the use of technology. Without it I’m sure my relationship with some of them would be a lot less connected or even completely gone. For these reasons along with many others to do with safety and , I do appreciate the importance of technology in our lives.

However, having gone basically technology free (other than a nightly phone call to E each night) while on my girls weekend on Dangar Island I have noticed how much more relaxed and happy I am without that constant connection and constant interruption to my daily life. This has got me rethinking my connection to my various technological items (tv, computer, tablet and phone). I do use these items for activities that are good for my health, such as connecting with friends and family as mentioned above and tracking my symptoms and energy usage, but I believe I am too connected to these items for my mental and emotional health.

To try and decrease stress and anxiety levels and increase feelings of happiness and productivity, I have decided to limit my time on each of these items. On a normal day I am aiming to limit:

  • TV only in the evenings when E is home to ensure I try and do other activities during the day. This will not apply on crash days and really bad days when I can’t do any high level activities.
  • Twitter/Facebook/Email/Blog Comment replies a maximum of three times a day (after first relaxation and exercise in the morning, around lunch time, and in the evening before dinner).
  • Blogging and other online activities a maximum of 2 hours a day.

By reducing these activities I’m hoping to increase my emotional wellbeing by reducing my anxiety and stress related to having to respond to messages as soon as they arrive and increasing the time I spend outside in nature which I find very relaxing and beneficial to my health. I believe it will also increase my mental wellbeing by increasing my creativity and productivity to fill the remaining time in my day.

I am also considering having a regular day or weekend that is a technology free time (even if it’s once a year). I loved my time on Dangar Island and believe I have come back refreshed and reenergised to tackle my problems and dreams for my future.

Have you ever tried having some technology free time?

18 thoughts on “Reducing Technology

  1. That sounds like a good plan! 🙂 I’ve tried to cut back where I can with technology. Crocheting, volunteering, and being out of the house help out with distracting me.

    1. Sounds great, I’m planning to try drawing and painting (not sure how good I’ll be though) as well as my sewing and writing. Apparently there’s a writers group at my local library so I’m going to find out more about them and try out a meditation group as well.

  2. Yep, Megan, you got it working. Just wanted to tell you that I really liked this post and do agree. I get on this laptop and I can’t seem to pull myself off, between email, blogging, FB, researching, etc. It does prevent me from doing some other things. Not quite sure what because I’m in bed most of the time, but I can read, write, spend more time talking to people in person, such as my family, attempt some easy exercises and things like that. I really do enjoy blogging, so I will have to keep it up, just maybe not be so consumed by it. Do my posts, respond to notifications, accept awards, and read others blogs and just like you said, just allow myself a certain amount of time each day for this and add some other enjoyable things to my life. I have to remember it’s all my friends here that keep me going. I do get what you’re saying and I do agree 100%. With the start of a new year that’s always when I try out these new ideas and test the waters a little bit. Great post.:)

      1. I’m sure going to give it a try after the first of the year. It’ll be difficult because this is my whole world, but I have to give it a try. Keep us posted on how it works out for you.:)

      2. Definitely 🙂 I’ll keep updating as I go. Will be doing a post in the new year updating on the defining boundaries experiment as well.

      3. Awesome. Can’t wait to read it. You’re a very good writer, as I’m sure you very well know. Keep up the good work, my friend.:)

      4. I have a good feeling, with your good attitude and positive outlook, only good things coming your way. I need to get around to your blog more often and pick me up some of that inspiration. Problem is, I am away for a few days and get so far behind and it’s literally taken me all night to get caught up on my notifications, I must respond to every one, actually I’m still not caught up and it’s 5:23 a.m. I get close and then here come some more. I can’t sleep because of the pain, so I might as well be doing this, better than staring at the ceiling all night. have a great day, my dear friend. It’s good getting to know you better. I really enjoy you and what you have to say. I sure hope you have a great day today. I’m all settled in for a major ice and snow storm moving our direction. I love getting snowed in, as long as we don’t lose power. Yikes, not good when there’s ice and you can’t get anywhere. I see I’m starting to repeat things, excuse me. My eyes need to get closed, immediately. Goodnight.
        Peace and Hugs,
        Wild Thang:)

  3. It feels weird when I’m not connected or I don’t have my phone. I’m so reliant on technology – be it my computer or my phone – to get through the day.

    I think it would be great for me to disconnect for a while. I may just do that.

Share your thoughts with me